Archive for December 25th, 2010

For the Sake of Love

Tonight, I had a heart-wrenching confrontation with my sister. Reality hit me… and it pierced my heart. I was witnessing what pains one has to go through, in the name of love.

I was seated across my sister who was sobbing terribly. She had to cry tonight, pouring out all that she has been carrying in her heart. She has been a single mom of my one-year old niece. The guy up until now hasn’t decided yet whether he’d take my sister seriously in marriage or not. My sister has to raise the kid by herself. She has to wake up 4:00 am everyday just to work, do household chores, wash clothes, and be disturbed in her sleep every time the baby cries at night. She has to do this all by herself. At a young age, she is experiencing the very painful pangs of life.

And this day is supposedly a very special day for my sister’s unofficial family. The guy came around in the morning of the 24th. And we were delighted. We weren’t expecting him to come, as he was absent for the most part of the important moments of my sister’s and her baby’s life. So no one in our family has been expecting him to come on this special day. But everyone was at least happy to see him reunited with his son again. But since he was a non believer, he did not participate in the adoration we pay our Lord on His special day. What hurt my sister was that, she was expecting that the guy would at least respect her wishes of spending Christmas together with him alone with their child. But the guy had his contradictions to our faith got the better of him and left just after he thought he had enough with his visit, without even granting my sister’s wishes just for this special day.

I pity my sister so much already and told her that she could always decide. She could actually choose to forget the guy and move on, perhaps with someone else.

My sister sobbed in reply:

Even if I’m very exhausted I endured it just to spend a special time with my baby. I had to take him somewhere just to make him feel the spirit of Christmas and make him happy. I had wanted that he would come with us, but he never did. What hurt me most was, on our way home, my baby keeps on uttering ‘papa, papa’… he was looking for his father… then I realized, that no matter how much I tried… no matter what I do, there would always be that missing piece that I could never fill in my baby’s life… he needs his father… it hurts so much already… but I have to do all and endure all just for my baby… just to give him everything… just to make him happy… I have to do this; I have to endure all of this because I love my son.

And I couldn’t help but cry with her. She has chosen to wait for the guy’s change of heart. She is not letting go… because she wants to give her son his father. She’s not giving up on lifting it all up to God, in praying for the guy… I know it’s hard to understand. The people of the world would pass on a verdict for this guy and would tag my sister stupid for her decision… but I understand her… and though I am hurting for her as well and would have tried to convince her harder on just giving it all up and find someone better… I would want to respect the strength of her spirit on believing the impossible… and I could only join my prayers with hers…

I know by the way it looks… Its way too impossible for her to have the kind of family she had hoped for with the guy… but nothing is impossible with God… I’m sure there would be someone better for my sister… but it’s in these kind of terrible, dark, and painful situations that God is glorified the most at the day of gratification… my sister is keeping the worm… it may take a longer process before its metamorphosis… but my hope is joined to hers… that one day, it will become a butterfly… and only God can do that…

Inwardly, I had envied my sister… she’s going to be a saint more than I’d ever be… because, she has it with love… she does things for love… she’s sacrificing for love… she’s suffering for love… she hasn’t chosen the easy way out… not the comfortable and smooth way… she’s doing what love requires of her… to suffer for the beloved… for the love of her son… she has dirtied her hands and wearied her heart… she has died to herself… all for love’s sake.